This is the "Home" page of the "Earth Scientists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Earth Scientists  

Mr. Trimpe's class researches "the true rock stars!" We have plenty of books for you, and magazines and databases too. If your scientist is hard to research, try the tabs on this page for information the librarian has prepared for you. Good luck!
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://athensacademy.libguides.com/earthscientists Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Assignment

Earth Scientist Presentation:

“Researching People Who Are the True Rock Stars”

Purpose:  Research famous people in Earth Science and present them to the class. Each student will research their famous Earth scientist and do a short oral presentation of 2¼ – 2 ¾ minutes on their person.  

Group 1:  Ptolemy – geocentric universe and epicycles, Erathosthenes – circumference of the Earth, Nicolas Steno – fossils and discovering principle of inclusion (by looking at a dead shark), Pliny the Younger – Vesuvius and types of volcanic eruptions

Group 2:  Nicolas Copernicus – heliocentric universe and retrograde motion, James Hutton – old age of Earth and uniformitarianism, Johannes Kepler – laws of planetary motion (1st and 2nd laws), William Smith - first geology map, Pierre-Simon Laplace-formation of solar system (nebular theory),  Louis Agassiz – Ice Ages,  Mary Anning – plesiosaur and ichthyosaur, George Cuvier – discovery of extinctions, Edmond Halley – Halley’s comet, Benjamin Franklin - lightning

Group 3:  Roy Chapman Andrews – Indricotherium and Andrewsarchus, Jacques Piccard – bottom of Marianas Trench,  Jan Hendrick Oort -Oort cloud, Clyde Tombaugh – Pluto and dwarf planets, J Harlen Bretz – Missoula floods and channeled scablands, Andrew Lawson – San Andreas Fault, Charles Walcottanomalicaris and trilobites.

Group 4:  Edwin Hubbleevidence for Big Bang Theory, Walter Alvarez -dinosaur  extinction, Louis Leakey - Australopithecus afarensis, Stephen Hawking – black holes, Gene Shoemaker – comet shoemaker-levy and impact craters, Rachel Carson – pesticides and ecology, Jack Horner – dinosaur behavior, Ted Fujita – tornados and how they form, Dr. Eddie Bernard  (professor at University of Washington) – tsunamis and how formed

Electronic Resources from the Athens Academy Library

To find database-specific usernames and passwords, check in your Shared with me folder on Google Drive or navigate to SpartanNet, then choose: Resources  > Middle/Upper School Media Center  > Electronic Resources.

  • Athens Academy Library Catalog
    If you don't find something using your scientist's name, try instead searching by a field of science (paleontology, astronomy, etc.) or by keyword (dinosaur, comet, volcano), and then look for your scientist in the book's index.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica School
    Offers thousands of articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, and editor-recommended websites.
  • Science Online
    Offers a wealth of discipline-specific entries and articles, images, videos, animations, tables and charts, and diagrams. Includes study guides for the most researched scientific disciplines, including biology, chemistry, computer science, Earth science, environmental science, space and astronomy, physics.
  • Science Reference Center
    Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources.

Internet Resources

Of course you can always google it...  But try these too!

  • Curious About Astronomy? Ask an Astronomer!
    Do you have a question about astronomy? This is the site for you! Ask your astronomy question and get a response from the graduate students and scientists at Cornell University's Astronomy Department. If you don't have a specific question in mind, just browse some of the past questions and answers to increase your astronomy IQ.
  • LiveScience
    Here's how LiveScience describes itself: "If you love cool science, you've found a home. Every day we scour the world of science and zero in on the latest innovations, the coolest discoveries and hottest events. Our goal is simple: to be the most timely, reliable and useful source for cool science news for the whole family. We focus on the exciting fields of Earth, space and weather science."
 

Earth Scientist Research

Earth Sciences image

You should provide:

  1. Brief biography of person’s life and personal accomplishments.  Anything unusual or interesting about the person should be mentioned.  Make this fun and not a list of dates!  Put this information under your Google doc “Biography” page.  Suggested maximum presentation length – 45 seconds

  1. Explain 1 or 2 of the person’s contributions to Earth Science.   Put this information under your Google doc “Contribution” page.  Suggested maximum presentation length – 1 min 45 sec.

  1. Use Powerpoint for presentation of your Earth Scientist and their contributions.

  1. Create a Partial Bibliography for your report under your Google doc “ Partial Bibliography” page, print, and hand in to Mr. Trimpe.

a.  You may use as many resources as you want, but you have to have at      least 3 sources, one from each category below:

      • 1 of your sources be a book or magazine (periodical)
      • 1 from the library’s Electronic Resources
      • 1 from researching on the internet.

b.  Partial Bibliography must name:

      • the title of article
      • a sentence on how and where you found the article
      • if found on internet, include web address.

Example:  Famous Astronomers and Astrophysicists.  I found this website using a google search for “famous astronomers”. http://phys.kent.edu/~manley/astronomers.html.

5. Fill out “Website Validity” sheet under Google doc “Website Validity” page, print, and hand in to Mr. Trimpe

Your Library Helpers

      

   Ms. Digel Drake      Ms. Terry

        Please let us know if you need assistance!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip