Indian political and spiritual leader Mahatma Gandhi said, "You must be the change you wish to see in the world." How would YOU solve the most pressing problems in our world? This guide is a collection of resources about global challenges and solutions.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2016
The organizations whose websites are listed below work to identify and solve global problems.
- Amnesty International
Amnesty International is an independent, worldwide human-rights organization. It works to free people imprisoned "for their beliefs, color, ethnic origin, sex, religion, or language, provided they have neither used nor advocated violence." The organization also works for fair and speedy trials for political prisoners and for an end to torture and executions. It received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1977.
CARE is a private, nonprofit agency founded in 1945 by 22 leading cooperative, labor, relief, and religious organizations. Its letters mean the Cooperative for American Relief Everywhere. Originally, CARE supplied packages of food and clothing to needy people in Europe. Later, it extended its service to people in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. CARE provides development projects that include health care, food production, water supply, income generation, and conservation of natural resources.
- Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an organization dedicated to promoting and protecting the rights and freedoms of people throughout the world. It investigates charges of human rights abuses and publishes dozens of reports every year based on its investigations. Human Rights Watch uses the media to draw attention to human rights problems and to pressure governments, armed groups, and corporations to stop abuse.
- UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund)
UNICEF aids children in over 150 countries by assisting governments in such areas as health care, nutrition, water supply and sanitation, education, and services for pregnant women and women with young children. The agency also provides relief supplies in emergencies. UNICEF works to protect the rights of every child as expressed in the 1989 Convention on the Rights of the Child.
- United Nations
United Nations (UN) is an organization of nations that works for world peace and security and the betterment of humanity. Almost all of the world's independent countries belong to the UN. Each member nation sends representatives to UN Headquarters in New York City, where they discuss and try to solve problems. The United Nations has two main goals: peace and human dignity.
- World Bank
World Bank is an international organization that provides loans and other assistance to governments and private firms for development projects, such as irrigation, education, and housing. It also grants loans to support government policies that it believes will strengthen a country's economy, such as a more efficient judicial system.
Worldchanging is an online, open-source community dedicated to improving living conditions through innovative and sustainable design. The goal of the site is to allow designers to work together in a whole new way, a way that enables 5 billion potential clients to access their skills and expertise. The network has a simple mission: to generate not one idea but the hundreds of thousands of design ideas needed to improve living conditions for all.
- BBC World News
BBC World News is the British BroadcastingCompany's international news and current affairs television channel. It has the largest audience of any BBC channel and any news channel in the world.
- Big Think
Big Think describes itself this way: "Big Think is a knowledge forum. Every idea on Big Think comes from our ever-growing network of 2,000 Big Think fellows and guest speakers, who comprise the top thinkers and doers from around the globe."
- Free Rice
Not exactly a resource, but when you play Free Rice, you are doing good! Answer one of the multiple-choice questions correctly, on topics such as English vocabulary, geography or chemistry, and the site's sponsors will donate 10 grains of rice to the U.N. World Food Programme. The site is responsible for the donation of hundreds of millions of grains of rice every month, enough to make a major difference for tens of thousands of hungry people in Haiti and other countries.
- International Herald Tribune
The global edition of the New York Times.
- Science Daily
Here are the things scientists discover every day. Science Daily's home page is crammed with links to stories on health, ecology, energy, wildlife, computers and other topics. And for every alarming item on climate change, there seems to be at least one on an impending medical breakthrough or other example of science making life better!
- The World Factbook (CIA)
A collection of statistics and information about countries around the globe. "The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
- Duck Duck Go
As easy to use as Google, and capable of returning impressive results. Give it a try!
- Google Scholar
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
- Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library, based at the University of Michigan, may be the next best thing to having a University library attached to your house!
- Open Directory Project
Open Directory is a powerhouse in web-searching. It provides search data to many of the most widely-used search engines, and is itself is a first-rate directory of the best of the Web.
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Delivers comprehensive indexing and considerable full-text from more than 450 of the most popular and important periodicals published, dating back to 1983.
Search.com is a "metasearch engine," a web search tool that employs over 1,000 search engines running in parallel to help you find what you are looking for.
- Virtual Library
The WWW Virtual Library relies on a consortium of experts around the world to present the richest content available on the Web in a broad range of subject areas.
Find materials at libraries near you.
Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.
The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Their website OpenSecrets.org is the most comprehensive resource for federal campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis available anywhere.
Pulitzer Prize-winning website in which reporters and editors from the Tampa Bay Times fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists and interest groups and rate them on a Truth-o-Meter.
The definitive Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
- And some information about the Super PAC App...
While watching a political TV ad, a user can hold up her phone to identify the commercial and receive objective, third-party information. The Super PAC App allows the user to rate the ad, while understanding who and how much money is behind the ad, what claims the ad is making, and whether those claims are based on facts.